Boyles Sutherland Hotel was the first hotel in Sutherland, built in the late 1800s and originally named the Railway Hotel. Later the hotel was renamed Boyles Sutherland Hotel after its owner Ted Boyle, who took over the hotel in 1901.
Ted Boyle was a civic minded person, who also built the National Hall opposite the hotel where dances and other social events were held. This building became Sutherland’s first picture theatre and it was leased to Marshall’s Pictures in 1927. The roof of this building is currently standing and covers offices and restaurants.
Photo shows the original Railway Hotel (on the Boyles Hotel site) and Boyle’s National Hall in 1910.
In 1937 the hotel was demolished and replaced by a new building, which currently stands and is listed under a heritage trust. The bricks used to rebuild the hotel were the first to be used from the newly formed Kirrawee Brick Works.
The hotel was positioned opposite the railway station and tram lines. The tram to Cronulla commenced in 1911, replacing a horse drawn coach, and was itself replaced by the full electric train service in 1939. In such a location Boyles Hotel slowly became the hub of the CBD of Sutherland and a meeting point for many people establishing commerce and development within the area.
Since its establishment the hotel has only had three owners which makes its service unique in style.